This is the "Websites and Databases" page of the "Environmental Science - BIOMES!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science - BIOMES!  

Use the resources in this guide to create an awesome, amazing, wonderful project on BIOMES!
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2013 URL: http://pcms.putnam.libguides.com/biomes Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites on Biomes

  • National Geographic
    From expansive agricultural land and lush rain forests to rugged mountains and turbulent seas, explore the myriad landscapes that collectively cloak Earth and shelter life on it.
    .
  • The World's Biomes
    Biomes are classified in various ways. This page will group biomes into five major types.
  • Earth Observatory
    Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in a different part of the world? What would the weather be like? What kinds of animals would you see? Which plants live there? By investigating these questions, you are learning about biomes.
  • World Biomes from Untamed Science
    A biome is a large geographical area of distinctive plant and animal groups, which are adapted to that particular environment.
 

Biomes Project

The resources on this page will help you find information on biomes.  Whether you use a website or a database, you will be sure to find some great resources for your project.

coniferous forest: Alberta, Canada

Coniferous woodland with Rocky Mountains in background, Alberta, Can.

coniferous forest: Alberta, Canada. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica. Web. 11 Sep. 2013. <http://school.eb.com/levels/high/article/25874/media?assemblyId=95030>

 

Introduction to Biomes

Databases on Biomes

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica High School
    The Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip