British Literary ResourcesMedieval Resources
This is the "Research Databases" page of the "British Literature - Research Topics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

British Literature - Research Topics   Tags: british literature, citation, databases, history, research  

Use this guide to discover just how interesting investigating British literature can be!
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2012 URL: http://pcms.putnam.libguides.com/content.php?pid=304495 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

British Literature Databases

Databases contain all sorts of information, from magazine articles, books, biographies and summaries on a given topic.  To get the best results from a database, use the Advanced Search option to narrow down your list of results.

  • Literary Reference Center  
      
    full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals;
  • MLA Literary Research Guide
    The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.
  • Academic Search Complete
    a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Advanced Placement Source
    Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It contains more than 5700 full-text journals and over 300,000 photos, maps and flags.
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica High School
    Encyclopædia Britannica Online High School provides teachers and students access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica in an interface that provides links to learning materials and teachers' resources.
 

Quick GALILEO Tutorial

 

Database Tips

What is a database?

From the Online Learning Library Center at GALILEO

The basic electronic information storage unit

A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval. The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, graphic, audio, statistical, combinations). There are physical (paper/print) and electronic databases.

The databases listed on this page are accessed through GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.  These databases provide a variety of articles, research papers, websites and other sources that can help you when you are conducting research.

One of the great things about using databases is that you know that the information you are getting is reliable, valid information.  Also, using one of the sources in any of these databases provides you with your MLA citation!  No more guessing about citation formats.

If you have any questions about these databases, feel free to contact Mrs. Nipper.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip