This is the "Books in the Media Center" page of the "Discover American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Discover American Literature   Tags: american literature, citation, databases, history, research  

This guide will lead you to American Literature resources for an A+ assignment!
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2012 URL: http://pcms.putnam.libguides.com/content.php?pid=316212 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books in the Media Center Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

American Literature

This short list of books contains stories, plays, poems and novels written by American authors.  For more titles, check the Destiny catalog.

Cover Art
Death of a Salesman - Arthur Miller (Illustrator); Christopher Bigsby (Introduction by)
Call Number: 812 MIL
ISBN: 0-14-118097-8
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Pulitzer Prize-winning play concerned with the despair of a sixty-three-year-old traveling salesman when he is forced to face the reality he has evaded all his life.

Cover Art
American Fantastic Tales - Peter Straub
Call Number: F AME
ISBN: 1-59853-047-X
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Contains forty-four classics of fantasy fiction, including selections from Washington Irving, Willa Cather, Kate Chopin, H.P. Lovecraft, and others.

Cover Art
The Awakening and Selected Stories of Kate Chopin - Kate Chopin; Alyssa Harad (Contribution by); Cynthia Brantley Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: F CHO
ISBN: 0-7434-8767-2
Publication Date: 2004-06-29
1899 novel about a Victorian wife and mother who is awakened to her desire for love and freedom when she becomes enamored with a young man she meets while on vacation; and includes a selection of Chopin's short stories, explanatory notes, critical analyses, and other study aids.

Cover Art
The Great Gatsby - F. Scott Fitzgerald; Matthew J. Bruccoli (Preface by)
Call Number: F FIT
ISBN: 0-684-83042-6
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
The tragic story of the wealthy Jay Gatsby and his attempt to win back the love of Daisy Buchanan.

Cover Art
The Scarlet Letter - Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: F Haw
ISBN: 0-553-21009-2
Publication Date: 1965-04-01
Hester Prynne, a young woman in seventeenth century Massachusets, is condemned by Puritan law to wear a scarlet "A" as the symbol of the sin she committed.

 

American Authors

These books can be added to your list of resources...each one is a book on an American author that you can find right here in the media center.  For more titles, check the Destiny catalog.

Cover Art
Edgar Allan Poe - Harold Bloom
Call Number: 818.302 Edg
ISBN: 0-7910-5117-X
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Presents study guides to a selection of short stories by American author Edgar Allan Poe, each with a plot summary, list of characters, and critical views; and includes biographical information about the author, lists of works by and about Poe, and an index of themes and ideas.

Cover Art
Student Companion to Mark Twain - David E. Sloane
Call Number: 818.409 Slo
ISBN: 0-313-31219-2
Publication Date: 2001-06-30
Describes the life of nineteenth-century American author Mark Twain and examines the plots, character development, thematic concerns, and historical backgrounds of several of his short stories and sketches, travel narratives, and novels. Also includes a selected bibliography.

Cover Art
Student Companion to Zora Neale Hurston - Josie P. Campbell
Call Number: 813.52 Cam
ISBN: 0-313-30904-3
Publication Date: 2001-07-30
Examines the works of African-American writer Zora Neale Hurston and provides biographical information about her life.

Cover Art
Student Companion to John Steinbeck - Cynthia Burkhead
Call Number: 813.52 BUR
ISBN: 0-313-31457-8
Publication Date: 2002-07-30
Describes American author John Steinbeck's life and career, and profiles his major novels and short stories.

Cover Art
Readings on "Walt Whitman" - Gary Weiner
Call Number: 811.3 Rea
ISBN: 0-7377-0077-7
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
An anthology of critical essays that provide a wide range of information and opinion about nineteenth-century American poet Walt Whitman.

Cover Art
Emily Dickinson - Tamara Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: 811.4 Red
ISBN: 1-56510-634-2
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Critical essays explore the life and poetic themes of American poet Emily Dickinson.

Cover Art
Robert Frost - Andrea De Fusco
Call Number: 811.52 Rea
ISBN: 1-56510-998-8
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Includes biographical information about Robert Frost as well as analyses of the themes in his poetry.

Cover Art
Black American Poets and Dramatists Before the Harlem Renaissance - Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 810.9 Bla
ISBN: 0-7910-2205-6
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
Biographies and critical extracts of eleven African-American poets and dramatists before the Harlem Renaissance.

 

More Helpful Titles

Cover Art
Romanticism and Transcendentalism, 1820-1865 - Bruccoli-Clark Layman; Robert C. Nowatzki; Robert D. Habich
Call Number: 810.7 Hab
ISBN: 0-8160-7863-7
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
A guide to studying and writing about American romantic and transcendental literature from 1820 through 1865 that discusses abolitionism and slavery, Rebecca Davis's "Life in the Iron Mills," Nathaniel Hawthorne's "The Scarlet Letter," antebellum African-American novelists, and other topics, authors, and books.

Cover Art
Realism and Regionalism, 1865-1914 - Bruccoli-Clark Layman; Tom Quirk; Gary Scharnhorst
Call Number: 810.7 Sch
ISBN: 0-8160-7864-5
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
A guide to studying and writing about American realist and regional literature from 1865 through 1914 that discusses naturalism, war writing, Kate Chopin's "The Awakening," Stephen Crane's "The Open Boat," and other topics, authors, and books.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip