GALILEO DatabasesABC-CLIO Databases
This is the "GALILEO Databases" page of the "World Religions Digital Scrapbook - Barling Honors World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World Religions Digital Scrapbook - Barling Honors World History   Tags: digital scrapbook, primary sources, religions, research, world history  

This guide will provide you with resources and tools to create an amazing digital scrapbook highlighting world religions!
Last Updated: Feb 10, 2013 URL: http://pcms.putnam.libguides.com/content.php?pid=424066 Print Guide RSS Updates

GALILEO Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GALILEO??

 

Database Tips

What is a database?

From the Online Learning Library Center at GALILEO

The basic electronic information storage unit

A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval. The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, graphic, audio, statistical, combinations). There are physical (paper/print) and electronic databases.

The databases listed on this page provide a variety of articles, research papers, websites and other sources that can help you when you are conducting research.

One of the great things about using databases is that you know that the information you are getting is reliable, valid information.  Also, using one of the sources in any of these databases provides you with your citation!  No more guessing about citation formats.

If you have any questions about these databases, feel free to contact Mrs. Nipper.

 

GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library

Specific GALILEO Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica High School
    Encyclopædia Britannica Online High School provides teachers and students access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica in an interface that provides links to learning materials and teachers' resources.
  • History Reference Center
    History Reference Center features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
  • Student Research Center
    Through the Student Research Center, users can pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

  • MAS Ultra
    is a general database created for a high school audience. It provides the full text of over 500 popular magazines as well as biographies and primary source documents. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also includes thousands of images, maps, and flags as well as reference books, including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts.
 

Intro to GALILEO High School

 

What Database is Best for Me?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip