Boolean SearchGoogle
How to Avoid Plagiarism
Other Media Center Resources
This is the "Start Your Database Search Here" page of the "The Road to Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Road to Research  

Use this guide as you prepare for the research process.
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014 URL: http://pcms.putnam.libguides.com/researchtools Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Your Database Search Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Ticket to GALILEO

We all know it's tempting to just "Google" any topics we need to research, and while Google and other sites like Wikipedia do offer valid information, for serious research you need to dig deeper.  This page is your access to GALILEO databases that provide your ticket to scholarly journals along with full-text articles, magazines, encyclopedias and other resources to help take your research beyond Google.

To access GALILEO outside of school, you will need a password.  Guess who has the password?  See Mrs. Nipper for more information.

Specific GALILEO Databases

These links will take you directly to specific GALILEO databases.

  • TopicSearch
    TOPICsearch is a current events database covering social, political, and economic issues as well as scientific discoveries and other popular topics.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

  • Student Research Center
    Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. Through the Student Research Center, users can pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search.
 

Start a GALILEO Search Here

 

Getting to Know GALILEO

 

Quick GALILEO Tutorial

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip